Vista Way: the two words few people want to see in their housing email when it comes.

If you’re like me, you try to learn as much as you can about the DCP, and – while you are unsure about what to expect concerning many aspects of the program – you know that Vista Way is *that place* and that you don’t want to be any where near it.

http://disneycastmemes.tumblr.com/post/27029741518

It’s not very difficult to find all sorts of rumors about Vista, making it out to be the worst possible place to live… in the entirety of the world. So, when I found out I was placed in Vista, I will admit that I was less than ecstatic. I mean, I was cool with having cheaper rent, but I wasn’t ready to deal with the incessant partying and all that the rumors say comes with having an address at Vista Way. I never got into the partying scene in college, so as a post grad who just completed student teaching while living at home (and, thus, was able to go to bed at 10:00pm without any disturbances), I wasn’t pleased. Additionally, due to housing complications, my three other roommates (who were on the same “no parties, more sleep” page as I was) and I were not all able to link up directly through housing, which was also super stressful. However, we all talked about it and accepted that there was nothing we could do (besides email housing and ask them to pleassssseeeeee place us together in a 2 bedroom apartment) and that we simply had to hope for a little bit of extra magic on that early morning check-in day.

Check-in on Monday, January 30th was kind of a blur. I was the first to check in, with my sister about a half an hour behind me, and my two other roommates about 15 minutes behind her. When I received my apartment number, I immediately texted it to our group message and went to unpack my things in my new apartment. Within the next hour, we found out that we would all, indeed, be living together in a 2 bedroom, 4 person apartment in Vista Way, and we were ecstatic. We knew that we wouldn’t have to worry about parties or anything like that in the apartment, and we knew that we would be living with people we liked and got along with easily.

As of now, I have lived in Vista for over a month. I can confirm that it is as horrible and terrifying as everyone says.

kelly-kapur-head-shake.gif (gif courtesy of http://forums.boxofficetheory.com/topic/19413-top-ten-films-of-2016-predictions/)

JUST KIDDING.

I actually kind of love it here! It’s pretty much what I would expect from housing designed for college kids. We were moved from our original apartment due to maintenance concerns, but our new apartment seems just fine. I honestly think Vista is the best complex for me to have been placed in, because it is a very social complex, which helped me to make friends super easily (which is not really something I’m usually good at). Through living in Vista, I have grown to know some really amazing people, and I can’t wait to get to know them better in the months to come. I really love the location of the complex and am really happy with how everything turned out.

So, I guess in summary I would just say the cliche “Don’t judge a book by its cover” describes Vista well: yes, the other complexes look newer and have actual balconies and probably don’t have cabinets that just decide they don’t want doors anymore (yes, one of our cabinet doors fell off… However, maintenance came and fixed it within a few days!). But, as my friend Genie is fond of saying, “it’s not what’s on the outside, but on the inside that counts.” And – from my vantage point – Vista is full of some pretty wonderful people that I am blessed to live with and near. And I am very happy. So don’t be afraid to live in Vista – if you want to make friends who will go to the parks with you and go get late night Wendy’s with you and do all sorts of fun things, it’s an incredibly magical place to live.